close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Three Ways to Win


READING CHALLENGE(S)

Read for a chance to win prizes throughout the summer! We have created 15 challenges on Beanstack that will test your reading stamina. As you complete these challenges, your name will be entered into weekly prize drawings and grand-prize drawings. 

Click Here to view the registration instructions and list of reading challenges.

Registration for the Reading Challenge will be open in Beanstack on Monday, May 25th. The grand prize winners will be drawn on Friday, July 31st! 


CREATIVITY CONTEST

Painting, poetry, songs, music, short films, stories, cross-stitch—we accept all forms of art and creativity in our Teen Summer Reading Creativity Contest! If you can conceive it and execute it, then we want to see it. 

Email your art or project to teens@eolib.org before 11:59pm on Monday, July 13th to participate in the contest. Your work will be featured anonymously in an online gallery on July 15-July 27 where people can submit votes (via Google Form) on which artwork/project they like the most. A panel of librarians will also pick the Library's Choice winner. 

Our Creativity Contest winners and honorable mentions will be contacted on Friday, July 31st and receive gift cards and other fabulous prizes!  


JOURNEY TO MORDOR

This summer The Emmet O’Neal Library Teen Department is encouraging you to get out and get moving, and we’re giving away prizes to help motivate you.

Sam and Frodo’s journey from Bag End in Hobbiton to Mordor to destroy the ring was approximately 1780 miles. You can roll, walk, run, skate, paddle, bike, swim, or even horseback ride to rack up your miles.

Pick up or download one of our handy-dandy maps, so you can keep track of your progress, and check in with us on Beanstack in order to log your miles. Registration for the Journey to Mordor will be open in Beanstack on Monday, May 25th. 

Let the journey begin with you!

Got Questions?

Email EOL teen librarians Matt Layne and Michelle Cheng at teens@eolib.org with questions about teen program(s), summer reading, or book recommendations! 

Participate

Thu, May 28, All day
EOL Website

Fri, May 29, All day
EOL Website

Mon, Jun 01, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jun 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jun 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Fri, Jun 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Tue, Jun 16, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jun 17, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Thu, Jun 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Mon, Jun 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jun 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Thu, Jun 25, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
YouTube Video

Fri, Jun 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Tue, Jun 30, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jul 01, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Fri, Jul 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Mon, Jul 13, All day
Submit with Email

Wed, Jul 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Thu, Jul 16, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Fri, Jul 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Mon, Jul 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Tue, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Wed, Jul 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Fri, Jul 24, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Zoom Meeting

Wed, Jul 29, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom Meeting

YA Staff Reading Recommendations

  • Teens
    • Darius the Great is Not Okay, by Adib Khorram
    • Ship of Smoke and Steel, Django Wexler
    • Stepsister, Jennifer Donnelly
    • The Epic Crush of Genie Lo, F.C. Yee
    • Dear Evan Hansen, Val Emmich
    • Dread Nation, Justina Ireland
    • With the Fire on High, Elizabeth Acevedo
    • Renegades, by Marissa Meyer
    • Warcross, by Marie Lu
    • Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson
    • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, by Mariko Tamaki
    • My Hero Academia Vol. 1, by Kohei Horikoshi
    • Cheshire Crossing, by Andy Weir and Sarah Andersen
    • The Cruel Prince, by Holly Black
    • The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater
    • They Called Us Enemy, by George Takei
    • Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo
    • Don't Date Rosa Santos, by Nina Moreno

Lord of the Rings Activites