close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Read, Listen, Watch

MB Residents

MB Residents

Read: Ebooks are available from Overdrive or Hoopla to download or read online. Flipster provides access to digital versions of your favorite magazines.

MB Residents

MB Residents

Listen: Overdrive and Hoopla provide audiobooks you can download or stream online directly from your device. Hoopla offers audiobooks and music.

MB Residents

MB Residents

Watch: Kanopy provides movies and documentaries. Hoopla offers movies and television series.

Research, Learn

Browse the JCLC Databases for a number of different online resources, including Consumer Reports and SAT/ACT prep.

Morningstar Funds, Heritage Quest, and Universal Class are services we provide exclusively to Mountain Brook residents.

Morningstar Funds provides information on investments. Heritage Quest provides genealogical research similar to Ancestry. Universal Class is an online service that provides instruction and CEU credit on a variety of topics, from small engine repair to Adobe Photoshop techniques for enhancing your home photographs.

Sign up for our Email Newsletter to stay informed about library services and events.

Staff Recommendations

  • Fiction
    • An American Marriage, by Tayari Jones
    • Little Fires Everywhere, by Celeste Ng
    • Educated, by Tara Westover
    • Killers of the Flower Moon, by David Grann
    • The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller
    • Notorious RBG, by Irin Carmon
    • Dark Matter, by Blake Crouch
    • The Bear and the Nightingale, by Katherine Arden
    • Bleeding Blue and Gray, by Ira M. Rutkow
    • The Incendiaries, by R.O. Kwon
    • French Exit, by Patrick deWitt
    • The Axe, by Sigrid Undset
    • Elevation, by Stephen King

Study Spaces

Dedicated quiet room - This room on the second floor provides a space for those who need quiet in our vibrant community library.

Group study rooms - Our group study rooms are available on a first come, first served basis to individuals and small groups.

Tables/chairs and study carrels througout the second floor.

Computers, Internet, Print/Copy/Scan

Public Use Computers

We have about 20 public use computers with 23" monitors and USB drives. Simply use your library card to login to a public computer for two hours of access (additional time available if no one is waiting).

Standard software includes: Office 2010 Suite, Chrome, Firefox, Adobe Reader, Ancestry, Morningstar Funds, Internet Explorer.

Wireless Internet

We provide complimentary high speed wireless internet access. Occasionally during peak times, we cannot allow music and video streaming. 

Print/Copy/Scan

Color printing/copying (50 cents per page), B/W printing/copying (15 cents per page)

High resolution scanning is available at no charge.

Participate

Canceled
Tue, May 28, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library

Tue, May 28, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Wed, May 29, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, May 29, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, May 30, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Wed, Jun 05, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Sat, Jun 08, 9:00am - 12:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Rescheduled
Sat, Jun 08, 10:00am - 11:30am
New date Saturday, June 08, 9:00am - 12:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Tue, Jun 11, 10:00am - 11:30am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Tue, Jun 11, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 12, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 18, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 19, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 20, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 25, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Wed, Jun 26, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 26, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Canceled
Thu, Jun 27, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library

Thu, Jun 27, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Tue, Jul 02, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 03, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 09, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Tue, Jul 09, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 10, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Canceled
Thu, Jul 11, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library

Thu, Jul 11, 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Rescheduled
Sat, Jul 13, 10:00am - 11:30am
New date Saturday, July 13, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Sat, Jul 13, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 16, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 17, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jul 18, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Fri, Jul 19, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 23, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Tue, Jul 23, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 24, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jul 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jul 25, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library

Wed, Jul 31, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 31, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Aug 01, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Canceled
Tue, Aug 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library

Wed, Aug 07, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 13, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Tue, Aug 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 13, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Aug 14, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 20, 10:00am - 11:00am
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 20, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Aug 21, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Smart Directions Series

Smart Directions @ Emmet O'Neal Library is a series of seminar style programs on personal finance and investing. This program is made possible by a grant from the FINRA Investor Education Foundation through Smart investing@your library®, a partnership with the American Library Association.

Smart Directions Program Archive
leftright

Blog