close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Read, Listen, Watch

MB Residents

MB Residents

Read: Ebooks are available from Overdrive or Hoopla to download or read online. Flipster provides access to digital versions of your favorite magazines.

MB Residents

MB Residents

Listen: Overdrive and Hoopla provide audiobooks you can download or stream online directly from your device. Hoopla offers audiobooks and music.

MB Residents

MB Residents

Watch: Kanopy provides movies and documentaries. Hoopla offers movies and television series.

Research, Learn

Browse the JCLC Databases for a number of different online resources, including Consumer Reports and SAT/ACT prep.

Morningstar Funds, Heritage Quest, and Universal Class are services we provide exclusively to Mountain Brook residents.

Morningstar Funds provides information on investments. Heritage Quest provides genealogical research similar to Ancestry. Universal Class is an online service that provides instruction and CEU credit on a variety of topics, from small engine repair to Adobe Photoshop techniques for enhancing your home photographs.

Staff Recommendations

  • Fiction
    • An American Marriage, by Tayari Jones
    • Little Fires Everywhere, by Celeste Ng
    • Educated, by Tara Westover
    • Killers of the Flower Moon, by David Grann
    • The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller
    • Notorious RBG, by Irin Carmon
    • Dark Matter, by Blake Crouch
    • The Bear and the Nightingale, by Katherine Arden
    • Bleeding Blue and Gray, by Ira M. Rutkow
    • The Incendiaries, by R.O. Kwon
    • French Exit, by Patrick deWitt
    • The Axe, by Sigrid Undset
    • Elevation, by Stephen King

Study Spaces

Dedicated quiet room - This room on the second floor provides a space for those who need quiet in our vibrant community library.

Group study rooms - Our group study rooms are available on a first come, first served basis to individuals and small groups.

Tables/chairs and study carrels througout the second floor.

Computers, Internet, Print/Copy/Scan

Public Use Computers

We have about 20 public use computers with 23" monitors and USB drives. Simply use your library card to login to a public computer for two hours of access (additional time available if no one is waiting).

Standard software includes: Office 2010 Suite, Chrome, Firefox, Adobe Reader, Ancestry, Morningstar Funds, Internet Explorer.

Wireless Internet

We provide complimentary high speed wireless internet access. Occasionally during peak times, we cannot allow music and video streaming. 

Print/Copy/Scan

Color printing/copying (50 cents per page), B/W printing/copying (10 cents per page)

High resolution scanning is available at no charge.

Participate

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 23, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Registration is now closed

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Jan 24, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Fri, Jan 25, 5:45pm - 8:00pm
Registration is now closed

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Sun, Jan 27, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Jan 29, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Jan 29, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 30, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Fri, Feb 01, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
This event is full

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Feb 05, 9:00am - 12:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Feb 05, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 06, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Feb 26, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 27, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 05, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Mar 06, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Mar 07, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Mar 12, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 12, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Mar 13, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Mar 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Library Administration
Sat, Mar 16, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 19, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 19, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Mar 20, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 26, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Mar 26, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Mar 27, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Apr 02, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Apr 03, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Apr 04, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Sun, Apr 07, 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Apr 09, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Apr 10, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Apr 11, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Apr 16, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Apr 16, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Apr 17, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Apr 23, 10:00am - 11:00am

Smart Directions Series

Smart Directions @ Emmet O'Neal Library is a series of seminar style programs on personal finance and investing. This program is made possible by a grant from the FINRA Investor Education Foundation through Smart investing@your library®, a partnership with the American Library Association.

Smart Directions Program Archive
leftright

Blog