close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Read, Listen, Watch

MB Residents

MB Residents

Read: Ebooks are available from Overdrive or Hoopla to download or read online. Flipster provides access to digital versions of your favorite magazines.

MB Residents

MB Residents

MB Residents

Listen: Overdrive and Recorded Books provide audiobooks you can download or stream online directly from your device. Hoopla offers audiobooks and music.

MB Residents

MB Residents

Watch: Kanopy provides movies and documentaries. Hoopla offers movies and television series.

Research, Learn

Browse the JCLC Databases for a number of different online resources, including Consumer Reports and SAT/ACT prep.

Morningstar Funds, Heritage Quest, and Universal Class are services we provide exclusively to Mountain Brook residents.

Morningstar Funds provides information on investments. Heritage Quest provides genealogical research similar to Ancestry. Universal Class is an online service that provides instruction and CEU credit on a variety of topics, from small engine repair to Adobe Photoshop techniques for enhancing your home photographs.

Staff Recommendations

  • Fiction
    • The Great Alone, by Kristin Hannah
    • The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett
    • An American Marriage, by Tayari Jones
    • Little Fires Everywhere, by Celeste Ng
    • The Rising Sea, by Clive Cussler
    • Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate
    • Educated, by Tara Westover
    • Killers of the Flower Moon, by David Grann
    • The Last Black Unicorn, by Tiffany Haddish
    • The Flight Attendant, by Chris Bohjalian

Study Spaces

Dedicated quiet room - This room on the second floor provides a space for those who need quiet in our vibrant community library.

Group study rooms - Our group study rooms are available on a first come, first served basis to individuals and small groups.

Tables/chairs and study carrels througout the second floor.

Computers, Internet, Print/Copy/Scan

Public Use Computers

We have about 20 public use computers with 23" monitors and USB drives. Simply use your library card to login to a public computer for two hours of access (additional time available if no one is waiting).

Standard software includes: Office 2010 Suite, Chrome, Firefox, Adobe Reader, Ancestry, Morningstar Funds, Internet Explorer.

Wireless Internet

We provide complimentary high speed wireless internet access. Occasionally during peak times, we cannot allow music and video streaming. 

Print/Copy/Scan

Color printing/copying (50 cents per page), B/W printing/copying (10 cents per page)

High resolution scanning is available at no charge.

Recommend a Book Purchase

Participate

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Sat, Aug 18, 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Aug 21, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Aug 22, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Aug 22, 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Aug 28, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Aug 29, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Thu, Aug 30, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Sep 04, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Sep 05, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Mon, Sep 10, 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Sep 11, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Sep 12, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library
Thu, Sep 13, 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Sep 13, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Fri, Sep 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Sep 18, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Sep 19, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Tue, Sep 25, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Sep 26, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Thu, Sep 27, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Oct 02, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Oct 03, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Mon, Oct 08, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Oct 09, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Oct 10, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Oct 16, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Oct 17, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Oct 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Oct 24, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Oct 30, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Oct 31, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Nov 06, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Nov 07, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Conference Room
Mon, Nov 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Tue, Nov 13, 10:00am - 11:00am

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Nov 14, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Wed, Nov 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Emmet O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room
Thu, Nov 15, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Smart Directions Series

Smart Directions @ Emmet O'Neal Library is a series of seminar style programs on personal finance and investing. This program is made possible by a grant from the FINRA Investor Education Foundation through Smart investing@your library®, a partnership with the American Library Association.

Smart Directions Program Archive
leftright

Blog